“What’d I miss?…”

It’s been a long crazy summer. I mean, of course, 2020 was going to bring about what has probably been the most improbable, unpredictable summer ever.

I am sure my #PLN has been wondering where I’ve been. Because life had become so crazy, I had to make a decision to step away from Twitter, #Edchats, and the rest for a little bit. But, in the immortal words of Arnold Schwarzenegger, “I’m back!”

As many of you know, a couple of years ago we moved in hopes that a career opportunity would materialize. We still had our previous house and needed to prepare it for either sale or for rent. So, I spent three weeks this summer taking care of things around the house. And then, I returned to the house in which we’d been living in central Texas. I returned to my job on July 8th.

About a week later, I learned my previous district in south Texas had an opening for an assistant principal at my previous campus. After doing some soul searching, talking it over with the family, and realizing a potential career opportunity wasn’t going to materialize in the immediate future, I decided to apply.

The last two years, I worked with some amazing people. My district has been outstanding. My mentor is second to none. My team has been phenomenal. I have truly been blessed and forged friendships that will last a lifetime.

About a month ago, I interviewed and was offered the position at my previous campus in the same role I had served before I left. It wasn’t an easy decision to make, but one that I feel in my core was absolutely the right one for me and for my family.

Although I wish I was returning or moving forward in my career path, the benefits of taking this job far outweigh a potential career advancement. I am excited for the new chapter in a familiar place and in a familiar role.

I think back to my one word for 2020: BOLD. Is this a bold move? I also think back to my mantra: Have courage/Be kind. How does this move align with both of those?

I can answer that in one word: perfectly. Sometimes coming back home is sometimes seen as a humbling experience- not so in this case. I leave, having grown immensely in the last two years. I have found my educational leader voice.

Jokingly, a few weeks ago, I dubbed this time as the “Summer of Hamilton.” My daughters have taken to the musical. And, I have absolutely loved every moment of it. We listen and singalong to the music for hours on end. Hence the name of this blog entry (We also rescued a kitten that survived living outside after Hurricane Hanna. Care to guess his name? I will give you three guesses, and the first two don’t count.).

At this moment in time, I’m reminded time and again of a line Hamilton says. “There’s a million things I haven’t done yet, but just you wait. Just you wait!” YES! I couldn’t have said it better myself. Let’s get after it!

Leave a comment