The Value of Foresight

I took some time off for Spring Break, but I’m here for another reflection.

Growing up, I can point to one book in particular that shaped who I have come to be. The Value of Foresight: The Story of Thomas Jefferson by Ann Donegan Johnson tells of how he was able to plan long term not only for his life, but the country he would help found. Parts of it are a bit whimsical and simplified for a youthful audience, but the message is clear. I think that today, foresight is one of those values that is undervalued and diminished in our society that needs instant gratification for information and payoffs.

So, how do I remedy this? I talk to my students about it. I teach them what foresight is and what it means. I tell them of my own experience, and how I had to plan out everything to arrive at this point. I tell them that foresight doesn’t mean that you will have every answer. It just means that you are working toward a goal and the realization of that goal. Everything you do is to advance that realization.

In relation to my professional life, I guess that’s why I understand the importance of a common vision, mission, and goals. Everything we do is to advance those. We align ourselves to that vision and mission. It’s more than just planning. It’s being intentional. And, that is something I hope I always remember: foresight with intentional actions. Or nothing.

One thought on “The Value of Foresight

  1. Cris, I think this post really captures the essence of a personal vision. The fact that foresight can be taught by raising awareness with students is so valuable. You really simplify it, without minimizing it, when you said, “It just means that you are working toward a goal and the realization of that goal. Everything you do is to advance that realization.” Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment